Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can a 410 FE(4.05" x 3.98") be internally balanced reasonably?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can a 410 FE(4.05" x 3.98") be internally balanced reasonably?

Hi. New guy here! Thanks for having me. I am totally new to FE engines & T-Birds. It seems that a 360/390 block stroked with a 3.98" crank is a very cost effective & modest way of getting more cubes. I do understand that more stroke in the 390 block is available, but probably choose not to because of longevity. I have found Scat Cast & Eagle Forged cranks. Can either of these be internally balanced at a reasonable cost? I know many things can be done by Cubic Dollars, but I don't want to spend them. "Bobweight" is probably at the cusp of my understanding, a "recipe" would be wonderful. I believe sometimes it's easier to do than to have to understand it till you need to. Sorry for a tough first question. Thanks, Tim

This is only a tough question if you don't have knowledge pertaining to 'engine balancing'. All FE engines can and should be internally balanced. Understand though, you can't simply balance a crankshaft by itself. I bring my crankshaft, flexplate, damper pulley, and a complete piston & rod assembly sample (with rings rod, wrist pin and keepers, bearings, cap and bolts) to my crankshaft balancer.

The factory uses the same weight components so they can get away with balancing just the crankshaft. If you change pistons, rings, etc., your new weight will be different and probably heavier than OEM. The cost for crankshaft balance is about $125. Don't think you can purchase a crankshaft or the other components and expect them to be in balance. It never works that way.

Bob weights are used to simulate the weight of your piston assemblies. Mallory Metal is welded into the crankshaft throws if your new pistons are a lot heavier than OEM. So, the heavier the pistons, the more mass is required in the crankshaft counterweights. - Dave