Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Metalflake
    • Feb 8 2024

3 speed manual with overdrive

I've been restoring my 1960 tbird for about 2 years now. It has an original 3 speed with over drive and I'm curios as to how rare that might be . Thank you!
  • jopizz
    Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009

It's certainly not common that's for sure. Unfortunately the number made is not available. You can check the Thunderbird Registry http://www.tbird.info/ to see how many are registered.

John
    John Pizzi - Squarebirds Administrator

Thunderbird Registry #36223
    jopizz@squarebirds.org 856-779-9695

https://www.squarebirds.org/picture_gallery/TechnicalResourceLibrary/trl.htm

Comment

• Voyce
      Experienced
      • Oct 29 2022

I have no idea as to the accuracy of this link (Ford Thunderbird - Square Bird 58-60 Production Numbers (thunderbirdclub.de)​), 928 3speed OD n 1960.

Perhaps you could contact them for their sources.

Comment

• jopizz
        Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009

It says less than 928 so I don't know what that means or where they got that number. It also give the same number with and without overdrive which makes no sense. It seems like they came up with the percentage of 1% and made the numbers fit.

John
        John Pizzi - Squarebirds Administrator

Thunderbird Registry #36223
        jopizz@squarebirds.org 856-779-9695

https://www.squarebirds.org/picture_gallery/TechnicalResourceLibrary/trl.htm

Comment

• Voyce
          Experienced
          • Oct 29 2022

Agreed, I would contact them and ask their sources of information before taking them as gospel.

Comment

• Voyce
            Experienced
            • Oct 29 2022

Further to the above is this interesting comment on overdrive production numbers from the forum founder Alexander - 1959 Thunderbird with overdrive - Squarebirds, Rocketbirds, and Fifties/Sixties Ford Discussion Forum.​

Comment

• Metalflake
              • Feb 8 2024