Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Temp Gauge Saga

Hi folks,

I've been working on getting all my gauges working and all are working except temp gauge. The temp gauge was sent out and professionally repaired and Dave Dare upgraded my CVR to solid state. When I got everything hooked up again I thought I was set when the temp gauge slowly worked it's way up but it did not stop until it reached max. I have a digital thermometer and was monitoring the temp as it went up. I could not get a temp higher than 180 no mater where I pointed it. I could easily release pressure using lever on rad cap and could then see that the thermostat was open thus everything looked OK. I assumed it was the sending unit. I read up on how to check resistance and while I'm no expert it seemed to me that the readings were not correct so I replaced it. As soon as I put in the new one I turned the key on and the temp gauged immediately pegged past max. I out the old SU back in and check some more things. When I remove wire from sending unit, gauge stays on cold which I believe is normal. When I ground the wire to engine temp gauge goes to max. Also normal from what I understand. Lastly, I checked the ohm setting on new SU, which is a standard parts TS4, and it is 200 ohms at room temp and about 23 at 180 degrees.

Could it be that there is something wrong with both my old SU and the new one I bought? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tom