Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Has anyone ever used this Disc conversion kit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Has anyone ever used this Disc conversion kit?

Has anyone here used this Disc brake conversion kit? I have looked through the forums and there is some talk about this particular kit, but no examples...what I want to do is keep 14-inch wheels and use my original hubcaps. No clue what make/model/year wheels I'd have to get for this.

http://www.tbirdranch.com/discbrk.html

I am not good with figuring wheel/caliper clearance then trying to compare them to some model's wheels, etc...and am wondering what 14-inch wheels will work.

It does say these are "GM" parts.

I have Emailed the question but received no replies.

Thanks,

Merid
    Last edited by Meridious; April 8th, 2008, 11:57 PM.

If I remember right the one downside to that kit, is you can't run a stock location for the sway bar since the calipers are on the front side of the spindle?

We have had lots of discussions on here about different disc kits. The way I went, I'm pretty sure you can't run anything smaller than a 16" rim on my car, never tried anything less than a 17" so truely not sure on that.

Personally I would make sure the kit you run doesn't interfere with running a front sway bar. I'm pretty sure that means a setup that hangs the caliper on the back side of the spindle away from the front of the car.

Comment

No.

This kit has the calipers in the right spot. That is the SBC? system you are thinking of. This kit has the calipers to the rear and no other modifications are necessary besides the stock wheels no longer working.

I have gone through all the disc brake threads going back to 2004. Only one person I could find who used this kit commented on the wheels, and he had placed 17-inch wheels etc. I want to keep 14-inch size.