This will take you to the main site where there is history, technical information and other information on these cars.
This takes you back to the main page of the forums.
This is the control panel to change your password, information and preferences on this message board.
Click here if your lost your password or need to register on this message board. You must be a registered user to post. Registration is free.
Search this board for information you need.
Click here to buy cool Squarebirds mechandise.
Click here to support Squarebirds.org. For $20 annually receive 20mBytes webspace, a Squarebirds e-mail address and member's icon on the message board.
  #1  
Old 03-26-2006, 06:42 PM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default Transmission Doesn't Shift

I drove the car upwards of 25 mph and there was no shift. The transmission was in D1. Fluid level is full.

My manual says the governor or valve body are likely responsible. Where do I start with this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2006, 11:53 PM
byersmtrco's Avatar
byersmtrco byersmtrco is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 28 2004
Posts: 1,610
byersmtrco is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

When you say "won't shift" do you mean won't shift out of low?
Mine does that. It's a linkage/strg clmn issue. I usually have to either have it hang up in low, or start in 2nd, then play with the shift lever to get it right. Start off in D2 and see if it goes 2nd-3rd as it should, then stop, start off in L, then slip it into D1 and see if it goes right. If not, then it could be internal.
Try the easy fix stuff 1st. All old Ford's, TBirds mostly, have very sloppy shft linkage.


John
__________________
John Byers
1960 Convertible (Orig owner)
Pic of car with my son Justin (15 Y/O 6'1")
Poss 3rd Gen T/B owner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:56 AM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

I didn't think to try putting it in D2. I found neutral and then moved the shift lever through 2 distinct clicks, and assumed I was in D1. I do have a sloppy linkage. When I drove, it felt like I started in 1st gear and never left 1st gear.

I'll try what you mentioned ASAP.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:20 PM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

It will be the weekend before I can check. To get a head start, if it doesn't do the 2-3 shift either, where should I start in addressing this problem? Preliminary searching has failed to turn up governors or valve bodies for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2006, 12:51 AM
byersmtrco's Avatar
byersmtrco byersmtrco is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 28 2004
Posts: 1,610
byersmtrco is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

I'm reasonably sure it's a linkage issue. I'm told there is a servo that can hang up in there. Just an adjustment, as are the (two) band adjustments. Try the D2 thing.

John
__________________
John Byers
1960 Convertible (Orig owner)
Pic of car with my son Justin (15 Y/O 6'1")
Poss 3rd Gen T/B owner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2006, 12:55 AM
byersmtrco's Avatar
byersmtrco byersmtrco is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 28 2004
Posts: 1,610
byersmtrco is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

I was also told lack of use isn't good either. Makes things stick. We gotta drive these cars !!! I (try) to make it a point to drive mine once (or twice) a month . . . Just to blow the cobwebs out. I took my 60 out a few days ago . . . ran her up to about 80 on the freeway. Got back, ran the top down then back up (good to use the conv top too-keep those parts moving)

Drive em !!!!


John
__________________
John Byers
1960 Convertible (Orig owner)
Pic of car with my son Justin (15 Y/O 6'1")
Poss 3rd Gen T/B owner
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2006, 02:26 PM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

I really hope you're right, I'd love it if my linkage was my only problem.

As for sitting being bad, I'm convinced that sitting is the worst thing (short of being in a wreck) for cars in almost every respect. I don't know when the last time my car was driven, but I know it's been more than a year, because the guy that had it before me didn't do any work on it, and the engine was disassembled!

In fact, the only clue I have to when it was last driven is the registration sticker on the license plate from Georgia--and it expired in '94!! Hopefully it's seen some action since then, but I'm not sure....

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2006, 07:35 PM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

I drove the car in D2 and couldn't discern any shifting. I could tell I was in 2nd, but there was no third.

I'm hoping all that's wrong is the governor is stuck from lack of use.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2006, 12:56 AM
byersmtrco's Avatar
byersmtrco byersmtrco is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 28 2004
Posts: 1,610
byersmtrco is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

Has the fluid been changed? Also, have (both) bands been adjusted?
You probably do have something sticking. Check the vac line going to the modulator (all the way down) I know on some GM trannys, if the vac line leaks, it will not up-shift. Not sure on the Ford.

John
__________________
John Byers
1960 Convertible (Orig owner)
Pic of car with my son Justin (15 Y/O 6'1")
Poss 3rd Gen T/B owner
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:00 PM
peeeot peeeot is offline
Experienced
 
Join Date: Oct 23 2005
Posts: 437
peeeot
Default RE: Transmission Doesn't Shift

whooa, vacuum line? I don't think I have any vacuum lines attached to the transmission. Should I?

Also, I haven't done any band adjustments. What are they?

Edit: I found this quote on the forum, elsewhere: "FORD changed the design of the CRUISE-O-MATIC in 1961 (first offered 1958) and included a modulator valve to control shifts rather than the throttle linkage used on the earlier COM/FOM."

If my throtle linkage wasn't adjusted properly, could that explain the lack of shifting?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Driving, racing or working on cars can be hazardous. The procedures and advice on this website including the message board are opinion only. Squarebirds.org and its webmasters and contributors do not guarantee the correctness of the advice and procedures. The Squarebirds.org and its webmasters assume no liability for any damage, fines, punishment, injury or death resulting from following these procedures or advice. If you do not have the skills or tools to repair your car, please consult a professional. By using this site you agree to hold harmless the Squarebirds.org, its authors and its webmasters from any resulting claim and costs that may occur from using the information found on this site.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Any submissions to this site and any post on this site becomes property of Squarebirds.org . The webmasters reserve the right to edit and modify any submissions to this site. All material on this is site is copyrighted by the Squarebirds.org. Reproduction by any means other than for personal use is strictly prohibited. Permission to use material on this site can be obtained by contacting the webmasters. Copyright 2002-2016 by Squarebirds.org.