X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Woodfin
    • Apr 8 2012

Restoration Questions

Brand new SquareBird owner here.
    I just picked it up this weekend and have spent the past few days poking and prodding the entire car looking for rust and trouble spots. I found some that I expected and some I did not. I've never done any restoration work before and I'm going to be restoring the car with my sons. It was running when it was parked in a barn of the prior owner in 1993. It's not moved or been started since then. I'm going to have a mechanic friend look at the motor.

We'll learn the ins and outs as we go, but I hate to make stupid mistakes and dont mind asking questions when I dont know how to do something.

That said, I do have a few questions. I found the expected rust on the rockers, trunk spare tire well and a few other spots, but found a lot of rot around the bottom of the radiator. It looks like the support bar going across the bottom is almost completely gone along with the battery holder. Is this common ?
    I wanted to take out the radiator to get a good look. I took off the top support, but on the bottom there was very little left.

The radiator was full and I did not see any leaks, but the bottom looked like there was nothing left. There are two of the bolts on the bottom were rusted through and the third broke with just a little pressure. I took the rad out and was thinking it was junk, but read a few posts that indicated I should look at having the radiator fixed. Is this something anyone has experienced ?

Thanks in advance

Rich
  • NYsquarebird58
    Experienced
    • Feb 6 2012