X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Gold Bird
    Experienced
    • Nov 9 2007

Newbie engine question

I am new to the Squarebird forum! I just received from my 83 year old father his original 1960 Convertible Bird. He bought it new and it has 58k miles, with the original engine/transmission. It is gold (Beachwood beige metalic) with a white top. The car has been in Florida for the past three years, where it had a complete down to the bare metal re-paint. The motor was overhauled about 5 years ago, but is showing some age. I would like to pull the valve covers and repaint them but not sure about the correct yellow color code. Also would like to know if the engine block should be gloss or semi gloss black. I can email pictures to show what it looks like. Thanks for the help and glad to find a site just for our birds! Tom
    sigpic1960 Gold Bird, original owner since new. tbirdregistry #3158
  • Alexander
    Webmaster
    • Oct 30 2002

Welcome to the site.

Pat Wilson sells the correct yellow valve cover paint for 1960 in spray cans. You can find his link in the main site in the links section.

The engine is gloss black. The engine brackets for the pulleys are semi-gloss black. Eastwood sells a paint that is called Underhood Black that is good. The reservoir for power steering is argent. Eastwood sell wheel argent that is good for this purpose.

I recommend you get the 1958-1966 restoration guide and the VTCI concours rules. There is a load of information in those books to get everything right.
    Alexander
    1959 Hard Top
    1960 Golde Top
    sigpic

Comment

• bcomo
      Super-Experienced
      • Sep 23 2005

Welcome Tom:

I would also strongly advise getting the 60 Shop Manual while you are ordering the paint. All of the vendors have it in re-print for about $34 to $38. Invaluable item !!!!
      Bart
      1960 Hard Top/430
      Thunderbird Registry Number 1231

Comment

• frank58
        Super-Experienced
        • May 28 2006