X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dgs
    Super-Experienced
    • Feb 13 2003

Oil Pan Change

I did an oil change on my T'bird a few weeks ago in preparation for the season and found that the drain plug did not want to tighten up. It looked like a self tapping plug (threaded end split two ways and bent inward) so I was concerned about it once I took it out. This is my first time doing the oil change myself, in the past I've had a shop do it.

It had been dripping before, but now it drips quite a lot. I have a drip pan under the car for now and I'm not driving it until I get it sorted. I haven't had a chance to get back under it to investgate yet, but it seems that either the threads on the plug, the pan or both are messed up.

Assuming that is true, my inclination is to buy a new pan and swap it out. That'll let me clean my pickup screen and replace the pan gasket, which may be leaking as well (my engine leaks a lot).

My question is, any tips on changing the pan? Shop manual calls for draining coolant and disconnecting the upper radiator hose, presumably because the engine must be lifted. Is that truly necessary? Do I need an engine hoist, or is there a way to lift the engine without it? Obviously, wood under the pan and a floor jack works, but doesn't really apply when you're changing the pan.

Thanks in advance.
    DGS (aka salguod)
    1960 Convertible - Raven Black, Red leather
    www.salguod.net
  • JohnG
    John
    • Jul 28 2003

I had to take the pan off to clean the screen.

I got by with a floor jack and a bottle jack as I recall (this was 2003 or 4)

Did nothing with the radiator.

Unhooked the two motor mounts and lifted the motor up enough to put some 2x4 pieces in between the motor and the mounts. Think I cut them U shaped.

I recall there is a nice but small,flat boss in the front on the left. near the filter. I put a bottle jack under it. Believe I had the floor jack under the tranny.