Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garysodhi
    • Aug 29 2014

Engine wont shut off after alternator install

I am quite new to the classic car club so please excuse my ignorance. I recently purchased a 1962 Thunderbird and after 3 months the alternator (GM one-wire) stopped working and required replacement. So, I purchased a Powermaster one-wire unit(#8-47141) and replaced the old GM with it. After running the wire from the alternator to the starter solenoid, I started the vehicle without any problems. The alternator was producing energy and registering 14.7 V on the voltmeter which was good. With a big smile on my face, I went to go turn off the vehicle to find out that the vehicle will not turn off despite me pulling the keys completely out of the ignition. Obviously the alternator is feeding into the ignition circuit somehow, but my electrical knowledge is not strong enough to troubleshoot the system, hence I am looking for help. The summary of my problem is listed below and any help would be greatly appreciated:

- 1962 T-Bird with a one-wire alterantor
    - Replaced alternator with a Powermaster one-wire unit
    - Mounted and tested the alternator and it was producing power
    - After wiring the alternator the vehicle would not shut off
    - I took the battery lead off in order turn off the vehicle
    - I disconnected the alternator wire from the starter solenoid and the vehicle turns on and off with the key without a problem

Please help!!!

Thanks,
    Gary
  • simplyconnected
    Administrator
    • May 26 2009

Many of our members successfully use a 1-wire. Personally, I don't like them but this is YOUR post, not mine.

Simply put, a 1-wire connects to the battery (POS post). Your key switch also connects to the battery. You connected your alternator to the ignition circuit instead of the battery circuit.

For now, I will assume your key switch is not broken. If it is, many vendors sell new ones.