Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tony C
    • Mar 14 2011

Replace freeze/core plugs, engine in car

My '57 Skyliner, 312 Y-Block has a leaking freeze/core plug - RH side, rear, right above the starter. Can this one be replaced with the engine in the car?

Is it best to replace all 4 plugs, but still with the engine in the car? As you can tell, I've never done this before.

Thanks in advance,
    Tony C. in New Braunfels, TX
    '56 T-Bird driver, Overdrive, No power
    '57 Skyliner driver, PS, PB, Auto
  • simplyconnected
    Administrator
    • May 26 2009

You may need to take the starter motor out, but that's only three bolts. I encourage you to use brass freeze plugs.

Notice how far from the motor mounts the rear freeze plug sits. You should have plenty of room. Use an old wide screwdriver and a small hammer to pound the inside edge of the 'cup' into the block. The freeze plug should turn in its hole, half in and half out. If the plug happens to go all the way in, just reach in and grab it with needle nose pliers. It really can't go anywhere and it won't get lost.

You should remove all four at once, go around each cylinder with a coat hanger to dislodge the rusty scale, and use a garden hose to wash the whole thing out. BTW, you're going to get wet.

Clean and dry each casting hole and apply a THIN coat of RTV. While the RTV is still wet, install the new brass plugs. - Dave
    Member, Sons of the American Revolution

CLICK HERE to see my custom hydraulic roller 390 FE build.

"We've got to pause and ask ourselves: How much clean air do we need?"
    --Lee Iacocca

Comment

• Yellowbird
      Experienced

• Jun 18 2009

I would follow Dave's advice and go with brass plugs. I just changed some of mine in my FE block. One suggestion is to put the plugs in the freezer for a few hours before installation. It helps them to go in easier.

Leonard
      sigpic

Comment

• Tony C
        • Mar 14 2011