Power Relay Identification

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Power Relay Identification

Hi Gang,
    I am new to this great list and have a question. What is the funtion of the two extra relays at the top of the photo I am posting on my web site? http://www.pinecanyonscalemodels.com/relays.htm
    It is the convertible top relay block from my 60 T-bird. I am in the process of restoring the car and never operated the top. It was not working when I got it. I have replaced all ten of the other relays except the two mounted outside the block of 10 relays. The two in question are mounted on 3-1/2 inch straps on the plate. They are 3 post type, but different than the other two on the block. The book does not show these relays. I was going to trace the wires, but ran into a loom. Thanks in advance, Keith
  • Alexander
    Webmaster
    • Oct 30 2002

RE: Power Relay Identification

Having never owned a convertible I am not familar with these systems. If no one else on this list can answer this question, I will ask a mechanic friend of mine who has a 1960 J-code convertible. He replaced all the old relays with new current Bosch units.

Alexander
    1959 Hardtop
    1960 Golde Top
    Alexander
    1959 Hard Top
    1960 Golde Top
    sigpic

Comment

• pabob1960
      Apprentice
      • Apr 11 2004

The relays were installed to permit the system to operate at lower voltage supply. Effective 10-13-59

My conv is not fully auto, so I have never personally worked on these systems

I have seen complete replacement kits for the relays in supply catalogs. I do not know about individual relays. I believe the cost for complete relay bank is around 500$usd

There is a artical in march april 1999 ITC script, page 27.

Pabob
      59Conv

Comment

Check out Keith's Diorama Clinic - a minature scaled automotive model - reallly neat.

There are quite a few baby birds in it - also saw a squarebird.....

Comment

• Alexander
          Webmaster
          • Oct 30 2002