• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • del
    Retired Expert Enthusiast
    • May 11 2010

Bumper Modification

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays To All ~

I have been running without front bumper guards for a couple of years and like the look and now I want to have my front bumper modified by smoothing out the indentations where the bumper guards mount. I am having trouble finding someone local who will do the job. I found a couple of old posts here from Dave D about getting repairs done to some badly beat-up bumper guards and I've seen plenty of stuff on the tube about that kind of custom work, so I know it can be done. I probably haven't found the right guy yet, and so I'm looking for some ideas. I have a spare bumper in decent shape but needing rechrome so that is the one I'm planning to modify.

I took the spare to a well regarded welding shop and explained what I wanted done. This place has been in business forever and I have worked with them before. They were afraid to take it on for fear of ruining the bumper (?) Next I took it to the only re-plater in town. His fabricator was only willing to fill in the bolt holes, which is not what I want. And his price for doing the chrome work was $850 which seems pretty high compared to those posts from 2009-10. So, what next? Anyone have any more recent experiences with bumper repairs or re-chroming work?

Thanks!
    Attached Files
    Regards,
    Don Vincent
    Amherst NY
    1960 HT 352
    TBird Registry 34042
  • bird 60
    Super-Experienced
    • Mar 18 2009

I don't really care for them either. I wanted to change mine with the 1955-'56 Guards, or Bumperettes, but the price changed my mind.

Chris.....From OZ.

Comment

• simplyconnected
      Administrator
      • May 26 2009

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays To All from the Dare Family as well...

Don, a bumper is nothing more than thick carbon sheet steel that was stamped in a press line, then polished and plated in a production line.