No announcement yet.

torque monster

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

torque monster

Since I have to tear into. My 390 to finnish a restoration that started and stopped 15 years ago hp is not nearly as important with a curb weight of over4100lbs torque is what gets us moving 428 crank not out of question although balanceing it could get$$$ though what part of hobby isn't degree cam but any ideas are welcome. Thanx. Jeff
  • davidmij
    Super-Experienced
    • Jan 17 2011

Hey Jeff, I was just looking at this the other day. From what I understand the longer the stroke the more torque. A short stroke will allow for more RPM's and thus higher HP at higher RPM's.
    This link here gives a few examples of what to expect from different length strokes.
    Ford Engine Kit - Ford FE Stroker Kit, 390 FE, 428 FE, 416, 428, 431, 442, 445, 455, Stroker, at GREAT Prices, Selection, Customer Service, and Low Shipping Rates All From COAST HIGH PERFORMANCE

I'm not a mechanic - I'm sure the others guys on here can give you some good ideas on cam timing etc.

Dave J

Comment

• simplyconnected
      Administrator
      • May 26 2009

Think of the crankshaft pin (the part that holds the connecting rod) as a lever. Now turn the crank so the pin is at 90 degrees. Given the same explosion at the piston top, a longer lever (stroke) will increase torque dramatically.

We can't just make the lever longer without consequences. Longer strokes require longer connecting rods, to keep the piston straighter. So longer con rod lengths help boost torque. Together, they are dynamite.

Enter the Harley~Davidson. They used Chevy 4" pistons with real long strokes. Using only two pistons, they delivered 70 hp and got 50 mpg. This is not a high rpm motor. Cruising down the road at 40mph feels like some giant is pushing from behind and you can feel each pump of his legs. It's an awesome feeling that never goes away. - Dave
      Member, Sons of the American Revolution