Overheating and A/C...

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overheating and A/C...

Hi all,

It's been a long hot summer here in Texas. I've had to drive my alternate car almost everyday in August.(100+ temps causing me to overheat...) I've had the radiator totally brushed out and cleaned. I was going to replace the thermostat, but whomever owned the car before me has welded, yes welded the resovior to the pipe...But I really don't think that's the problem. I just think it's too **** hot here. I had a local friend suggest that I replace my stock radiator with a two inch one and add a shroud. What do ya think?

I read the previous post, and honestly got confused with some of the suggestions. I'm just learning about cars amd have my manuals on hand, but...I'm still a novice....And I got my a/c up and running, but can't use it because i overheat even faster. The gentleman who worked on my radiator totally talked down to me about how you can't use your a/c when you're on the highway/traffic...Does anyone know of a good solution to this very irritating problem?

Also, I was thinking of adding an aftermarket a/c (to the tune of $2500), but if it's going to overheat, it'll be a waste. I'm having some small regrets about making this my daily driver in the horrible heat of Texas....

Trying to sweat in a delicate way....
    CG
  • Alexander
    Webmaster
    • Oct 30 2002

RE: Overheating and A/C...

Honestly, the cooling system of the thunderbird is stress in warm weather even without A/C. the radiator is symply not tall enough. The expansion tank was an inexpensive attempt to solve the problem. Unfortunately it is a suboptimal solution. Putting the A/C on in traffic will lead to overheating. I have not been able to do that ever with my 1959 in hot weather.

The improvements you can make to your car are:
    [ul][li]install a higher flow water pump
    [li]have a four core radiator made up for you
    [li]use Evan's coolant