• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tully
    Experienced
    • Mar 7 2008

Newbie just bought a sq bird

Hello

I just bought a 1960 square bird, white with red/white interior. Car is apart as owner was restoring it but passed away. I'm a shade tree mechanic, just finished a 68 ranchero and working on a 71 Mach 1. But always liked the sq birds.I'll post some pic's as soon as I get the car, it's in Calf and I'm in North Florida. But I do have one question today, how hard is it to add factory type A/C to a 60 that is Non A/C?

Dennis
  • bcomo
    Super-Experienced
    • Sep 23 2005

tully:

Welcome to Squarebirds, and congratulations on your new 60.

If you mean adding stock factory A/C, then it's pretty much impossible to find one in good shape or not.

There are aftermarket A/C systems by "Classic Auto Air" http://www.classicautoair.com/ and others like "Arctic Auto Air" in Ft. Lauderdale http://www.gohtsn.com/article_449.shtml, and "Vintage Air" in San antonio http://www.vintageair.com/contact.asp that can provide a do it yourself install kit.

Here is the link to the Classic Auto Air install in a 58-60 T-Bird:

Here is the link to the Classic Auto Air installation instructions for the 58-60 T-Bird:

Looking forward to seeing photos of your 60.

Hope this helped.
    Bart
    1960 Hard Top/430
    Thunderbird Registry Number 1231

Comment

• byersmtrco
      Super-Experienced
      • Sep 28 2004

Welcome !!!

My parents bought the 60 TB Conv I have brand new (I'm a 1960 model too)

Classic Air does make a good syst. You can get a factory ac vent so it looks stock from the inside.

Once in awhile an orig ac syst will pop up on ebay. You need to beef up the cooling syst to run ac (even w/o it) The radiators in these cars are too small. Compare it to a full size Galaxie or Merc. Same eng 352 (or 390) but their radiators are way bigger. I have a 4 row core, a shroud and a 7 blade fan. Mine does not get hot

Welcome and enjoy the Bird

Comment

• Dan Leavens