X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • elijahbird7
    Experienced
    • Nov 12 2013

Removal of Sports Tire Carrier

Newbie here looking at a '59 Baltic Blue convertible for sale that has a lot of "glitz" items added. Dual spotlights, Chrome Exterior package, Chrome engine package, wire wheels and Sports Tire Carrier. These packages are all correct Ford items, except of course the wire wheels are aftermarket. I was wondering of the possibility of removing the carrier if I buy the car. Would there now be exposed holes in the bumper and marks on the chrome where the kit attached? I know the bullets would have to be replaced, but I think the lines of the rear of the car look better to me without the kit. After looking at it, I'm even unclear as to how you get the spare tire out of there. The owner of the classic car business did not know that answer either. There was however a spare in the factory location as well as a tire in the carrier. I suppose it's too much effort to get the one out of the carrier?
    I have 3 other Thunderbirds, '56 Peacock that was on the cover of Hemmings Classic Car magazine July '07, a '66 428 hardtop, Tahoe Turquoise and White top, and an '04 Merlot I bought new and has 7500 miles now. I'm a few weeks away from making a decision on the '59, but just wanted some input.
  • YellowRose
    Super-Experienced

• Jan 21 2008

Removal of Sports Tire Carrier