X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 1958Bird
    • Jul 14 2013

1958 Thunderbird Convertible

Hi All, I am new to the forum.
    I am new to the TBirds scene and I was wondering how rare a 1958 Thunderbird Convertible is? I have the chance to purchase one that has been hidden away for a very long time and has not been registered since 1964. This is a complete car with NO rust at all. It is body number 0929.

Thanks in advance

Without checking exact production numbers, a few thousand of the convertibles were made in 58. Might have been something like 2900 of them. According to John Rotellla's http://www.tbirdregistry.com, there's 112 of these cars known to exist today.

So probably don't ask any more questions, just buy the darn bird and feel very good about yourself. Oh yes maybe one more question, How many 58 converts are in Australia?

Comment

• 1958Bird
      • Jul 14 2013

Thanks mate. I will let you know tomorrow how I went.

Comment

• YellowRose
        Super-Experienced

• Jan 21 2008

'58 Convertible s are fairly rare with only 2,134 made. As Jed said, not that many are known to be left. When you open the drivers door, on the post that the door closes on, you should find the Data Plate there. On that plate, it gives you the VIN #, the information on the car model, which should be a convertible, color of the car, the interior color, the date it was scheduled to be built, the tranny and axle in it all when it went down the line. Here is a link that will give you more information about the '58 Squarebird. As Jed said, grab it if it is really good condition. We have a Vehicle Check List you can use to check out the car with. You will find it at the bottom of the Technical Resource Library, the link to which is always below my signature element. Print it out and run the check list against the car.

http://automotivemileposts.com/tbird...lections.shtml

Ray Clark - Squarebirds Administrator