Squarebirds, Rocketbirds, and Fifties/Sixties Ford Discussion Forum

Squarebirds, Rocketbirds, and Fifties/Sixties Ford Discussion Forum (http://squarebirds.org/vbulletin/index.php)
-   1958 To 1960 Squarebirds - General Technical Discussion (http://squarebirds.org/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Changing Door Handles - advice? (http://squarebirds.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=18347)

JohnG 01-27-2015 10:10 AM

Changing Door Handles - advice?

hi!
I am hoping to replace my outer door handles this winter with some new ones from Dennis Carpenter, purely for visual purposes.

I have little experience working in the door and basically want to know if there are any significant obstacles or issues involved in changing them.

I can remove the window crank handle (have the tool for that) and the inner panel. I have worked on the outer door trim from the lower inside. That's about the extent of my experience.

Can I, for example, even get to the handles with the windows in place? If so, how are the handles held on?

Any advice or experiences appreciated!

By the way, I do not have power windows.

thanks!
John

Dakota Boy 01-27-2015 10:35 AM

Remove the door panel and take a peek inside.

They are pretty easy to work with, but the interior door panel must be removed. Roll the window up. I believe the screws are phillips-head.

jopizz 01-27-2015 11:52 AM

One screw is inside the door. The other is outside behind the weatherstripping. The window needs to be up. They are phillips head screws as Dakota Boy said. It helps if you have a long screw driver and you tape the inside screw to the tip to get it started. While you have the door panel off lube the linkage and lock mechanism. I assume you have new gaskets as well.

John

simplyconnected 01-27-2015 12:09 PM