X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tbirdmike63
    Experienced
    • May 4 2017

Engine idle rough?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the tbird scene, I have a 66 428 car, it's timed, good plugs, new carb. When I put it in gear the idle drops, which is normal, but the engine kinda shakes, almost feels like it's going to stall, it hasn't yet, if I turn up the idle it's higher in neutral or park but once it's in drive the idle drops, engine kinda shakes. Is this normal for a big block? Maybe I'm comparing it to modern cars that have a butter smooth idle. Thanks
  • jopizz
    Super-Experienced

• Nov 23 2009

If your engine is healthy and properly tuned it should idle just as smooth as today's cars. Rough idle can be caused by a number of things. Usually it's dirt in the carburetor. Do you have a new fuel tank or the original. A new carburetor doesn't do any good if your tank is loaded with rust and scale. It will get clogged in a matter of minutes. Even with a fuel filter. You may also have a vacuum leak. I would disconnect all the vacuum hoses from the intake manifold and plug the connectors and see if it helps. You may also have a leaking vacuum advance in the distributor. That will also cause rough idle.

John
    John Pizzi - Squarebirds Administrator

Thunderbird Registry #36223
    jopizz@squarebirds.org 856-779-9695

https://www.squarebirds.org/picture_gallery/TechnicalResourceLibrary/trl.htm

Comment

• tbirdmike63
      Experienced
      • May 4 2017

The idle is smooth as silk in neutral, it's once I drop it in drive, it is an original gas tank, so I'm sure it's full of gunk.

Comment

• tbirdmike63
        Experienced
        • May 4 2017

I meant park, and neutral.

Comment

• YellowRose
          Super-Experienced

• Jan 21 2008

Engine idle rough?