PDA

View Full Version : po cut wires under cowl drain tube


Larry Tappen
06-16-2017, 02:31 PM
ok all you wizards. my 64 bird got its wires cut . the wires I'm talking about is under right cowl drain tube. looks to be 3 or 4 wires one is red not sure of others. they go through the firewall via grament. looked under dash I cant figure out where it goes. any help is great, thanks larry t

Yadkin
06-16-2017, 05:16 PM
The factory used bulkhead electrical connectors for most of the wiring through the firewall. On the right (passenger) side the connector has 6 wires that serve the ignition (coil), the starter relay, and the alternator regulator.

I think on the convertible they used a grommet for the 4 wires going to the top control relay (mine's a hardtop).

None of the wires are red without a stripe. That wiring may be added on by a PO.

simplyconnected
06-16-2017, 05:48 PM
ok all you wizards. my 64 bird got its wires cut . the wires I'm talking about is under right cowl drain tube. looks to be 3 or 4 wires one is red not sure of others. they go through the firewall via grament. looked under dash I cant figure out where it goes. any help is great, thanks larry tLarry, come on... three or four wires are cut, you're not sure but you think ONE OF THEM is red. Ford didn't use grommets for their wiring in '64, they used plugs and receptacles.

How on God's Earth can anyone help with such sketchy information??? All we know is the information you write, which isn't much at best. - Dave

OUR5T8BIRD
06-16-2017, 08:58 PM
ok all you wizards. my 64 bird got its wires cut . the wires I'm talking about is under right cowl drain tube. looks to be 3 or 4 wires one is red not sure of others. they go through the firewall via grament. looked under dash I cant figure out where it goes. any help is great, thanks larry t

Should be your power window relay wires . Three of them .

Larry Tappen
06-16-2017, 09:28 PM
now I know its the window relay. mine is missing. po wraped all 3 wires together and left it. dave I'm sorry if I didn't give enough info. my 64 is hardtop. the wires I'm talking about does go through the firewall via a grommet or plug or whatever you want to call it, but its not a 6 wire plug thanks for the help larry.

simplyconnected
06-17-2017, 12:09 AM
Larry, I know you can't post pictures but if you send me a few shots I will post them for you.

No need to apologize, but we need more info in order to help. Send your pics to simplyconnected@aol.com.

Do you have a wiring diagram? If not, there is one in our Technical Resource Library. - Dave