PDA

View Full Version : Turn signal no click.


tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 06:00 AM
Hey everyone, well I got up early to drive the tbird to work today and I noticed the turn signals not working, when no click from both sides, the indicators stay on, they were working fine yesterday. Could it be the relay, the one in there now is original, it is gold in color and located by the fuse panel, if this is what I need. Any help would be great.

jopizz
06-10-2017, 10:48 AM
That relay near the fuse box is for the map lights. It has nothing to do with the turn signals. The turn signal relay is near the steering column. The first thing I would check is the 15 amp circuit breaker in the fuse box. If that's ok then it could be the relay or something in the sequential unit itself.

John

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 11:10 AM
Are you sure, the gold turn signal relay is by the fuse panel, it's round gold, it's used to click when I put the turn signal on. I know the turn indicator relay is near the steering column. I have a 66.

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 11:26 AM
Oh, maybe it was the flasher relay, is the flasher relay near the fuse panel?

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 11:28 AM
How do you check the circuit breaker, will it be burned and broken in the middle?

jopizz
06-10-2017, 11:35 AM
That flasher is only for the emergency warning lights, not the normal turn signals. You can try changing it and see if it makes any difference. I doubt it. To test the circuit breaker either put a test light or voltmeter on both posts to see if you get voltage. That's a sealed breaker so you can't tell by looking at it.

John

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 11:49 AM
On both posts of the circuit breaker, right?

jopizz
06-10-2017, 11:50 AM
Yes, you need to get voltage on both posts.

John

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 12:04 PM
So, if I only have voltage on one post the circuit breaker is blown, sorry, I'm not at all familiar with circuit breakers in cars, only fuses.

jopizz
06-10-2017, 12:09 PM
They're the same as fuses except they can trip and then reset themselves after a few minutes. If you only get voltage on one post it's blown.

John

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 12:14 PM
Ok great, if it's the relay by the steering column, I think I know which one that is, is that also called the turn indicator relay?

jopizz
06-10-2017, 12:25 PM
Sometimes it called the turn signal relay, sometimes the turn indicator relay. There's only one near the steering column.

John

tbirdmike63
06-10-2017, 06:58 PM
I know this sounds kinda hokey, I think they sell a modern electronic version of this relay, do you think I could unplug the old unit leave it in the car, because of it's location I don't think I can get it out of the car, and plug in the new unit? Does the new unit need to be attached to the car for grounding reasons, I could just plug it in and zip tie it to something under the dash. I know hokey, but if it works and it's out of sight I don't care. Thanks!

jopizz
06-10-2017, 08:12 PM
You can substitute just about any modern solid state relay for your mechanical one. You can probably take one out of your everyday car to test it temporarily. However an easier way to test it is just to use jumper wires in the plug and eliminate the relay. Your relay plug has three terminals. Find out which terminal has voltage and jumper that to the other two terminals. If your turn signals work then it's the relay. If not then the relay isn't your problem.

John