PDA

View Full Version : I need some help


black89lotus
04-18-2016, 08:44 PM
Hi All...

My 65 is undergoing a restoration..by me...and I am in need of a reference picture ...
Vacuum mounted trunk release....I have the console switch however the vacuum motor and bracket were never installed on the trunk lid..strange .but who knows...there are no mounting holes drilled into the lid either. I have purchased a used vacuum motor and mounting bracket but I am very stumped on how it attaches and where...the manual illustrates this but it just doesnt seem to fit when I look at the lid....

If anyone has this option on their car, I would greatly appreciate a picture of the motor and bracket on the lid...
I can send a pic of the motor and bracket that was sourced from a junk yard...off of a 65- cant post pic here for some reason!

thanks in advance for any assistance!!

Tony

YellowRose
04-18-2016, 11:26 PM
Tony, back on 9-18-13, when you joined, I posted a welcome to you in the New Members Welcoming Forum. In it, I provided you with the information on how to post pix on this Forum. Here is the link to it.

http://www.squarebirds.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=15830

Also, if you have not done this, please do.

In the interest of communicating with you, if you have not done so, please add the following email addresses to your address book. webmaster@squarebirds.org; Our Webmaster, Dave Dare ~ simplyconnected@aol.com, John Pizzi ~ jopizz@verizon.net, and Ray Clark ~ rayclark07@att.net and yellowrose@squarebirds.org. This should keep any email from one of us in a leadership position on this Forum from going into your Spam or Deleted folder.

I do not know the Flairbird that well. Hopefully, one of our many Flairbird owners who do, will answer your question.

simplyconnected
04-18-2016, 11:50 PM
Do you have a Shop Manual for your car?

black89lotus
04-19-2016, 12:39 AM
Hi...yup...and that illustration doesnt quite make it when you have the actual part in your hand...it just doesnt fit the way it is shown....a picture of one in a car would do it just fine!

thanks!

Yadkin
04-19-2016, 08:11 AM
I'd like to see a picture as well, but to facilitate conversion to electric. That way I can open the trunk without the engine running to produce vacuum, or having a complex accumulator system.

spanky
04-28-2016, 12:42 PM
I have this option on my "66, and have chased around a leak the last 5 years. I would recommend you check the whole operation of the vacuum system before installation. Going electric is a wise move with the switch under the dash beats a lot of hose repair.

scumdog
04-28-2016, 02:18 PM
I'd like to see a picture as well, but to facilitate conversion to electric. That way I can open the trunk without the engine running to produce vacuum, or having a complex accumulator system.

OR: Just use the old fashioned key system if the engine hasn't been run for a while!
BTW, my vacuum system holds enough vacuum to still operate the trunk lock up to an hour after the engine was last running.