PDA

View Full Version : WIN 10 Possible Problems


YellowRose
11-09-2015, 03:22 PM
About a week ago, Eric ~ DalecarliaEric, in Sweden upgraded to Windows 10 and promptly was not able to navigate our Forum. He was showing as being logged on here by me, but was not able to do anything on the Forum. However, after changing his password, I was able to log on as him, and navigate all over the Forum. But he still could not. Since Dave ~ simplyconnected has been running Win 10 for awhile now, without any problems at all, we figured the problem had to be something other than being caused by Win 10. After a lot of emails back and forth, suggestions from myself, and Dave ~ simplyconnected, how to correct this, Eric figured out what was going on.

It WAS Win 10 that was the culprit and here is how Eric tracked this down. At work, running Win 7, he was able to navigate freely throughout the Forum. That told him that Win 10 had to be the problem. So here is what he did to fix it, and IF any of you are on Win 10, and can log on the Forum, but can't do certain actions because of Win 10, but can read this, here is what he did to fix it.

"Now it works in Microsoft Edge (the browser) in Win 10.

I went into the settings in Win 10 and put http://www.squarebirds.org in trustworthy sites and allow pop-up windows from http://www.squarebirds.org and now I can navigate around the http://www.squarebirds.org.

If it can be helpful for someone else, I made changes in settings (in Win 10) - Network and Internet - VPN - Internet Options - Security - Trusted sites (add http://www.squarebirds.org) and Privacy - Settings (allow pop-up windows http://www.squarebirds.org)."

simplyconnected
11-10-2015, 10:23 AM
Ladies and Gentlemen, as I said from the beginning, Windows 10 is NOT the problem. His browser is.

Right now I am using Windows 10 with Internet Explorer 11 with no problem. Ever since I installed ten, this combination always worked just fine.

I do not know what browser DalecarliaEric in Sweden was using because he never said. As Ray posted, as soon as Eric started using the browser that came with Win10 (Microsoft Edge) he has had no issues. I do not use Microsoft Edge, Chrome, FireFox or any of the other browsers, although I could. I simply chose not to, so I have limited experience with their features, good or bad. This keeps my computer from bogging down running 'extra' programs I really don't need.

I'm not advocating for one browser over another. If you like a particular browser and it works for you, stay with it. But if you are having problems cruising the web, it's probably your browser, not your platform (Windows in this case).

If you have Windows7 or 8, I strongly urge you to download the free Windows 10 from Microsoft. The idea of these changes was to make things "app" driven instead of "menu" driven because so many folks are using their application-driven touch pads and phones. Windows 7 was good but Windows 8 was SO BAD, Microsoft skipped 9 and they freely offer 10 to those with 7 or 8. I love 10 and have used it for a number of months without a hitch. - Dave

YellowRose
11-10-2015, 01:42 PM
Prior to his install of Win 10, everything was working normally with the Windows version he was running. Look at what Eric said below... He said that he had just recently installed Win 10 and since then has not been able to log onto our Forum, USING Microsoft Edge browser, which to my understanding, is new and is part of Win 10 only. It was only after he re-configured Microsoft Edge to the settings that he stated below, was he able to access and move around our Forum correctly. So when he installed Win 10, for whatever reason Microsoft Edge would not allow him to access our Forum until he re-configured it. So, as I see it, he did have a problem with his Win 10 install...

simplyconnected
11-10-2015, 03:57 PM
Windows is a platform, not a browser. I read the text a few times and I understand it.
Do you know what browser he was using prior to ten? Was it a Swedish version? These and many other questions must be understood for compatibility issues.

Regardless. His old browser did not work correctly with ten but the browser that came with ten worked just fine.

I explained that I am using ten with IE 11. It works great. I'm sure other browsers do too. Eric's particular browser in Sweden did not. I'm not a bit surprised but his browser has little to do with his platform. BTW, he also changed his new browser to show that our site is a 'trusted site'. Did his old browser have the same security settings? Did Eric try using 'compatibility mode'? Here we are with more questions but they don't matter because our site works well with ten. - Dave

YellowRose
11-10-2015, 06:24 PM
I certainly understand the difference between Windows and a browser.. No one said his old browser did not work with Win 10! He said he was using Microsoft Edge within Win 10 and it would not work until he made those changes... It is my understanding that whatever platform and browser he was using prior to installing Win 10 was working fine. It was ONLY after he downloaded and installed Win 10 and then went to use the Microsoft Edge browser within Win 10 that the problem cropped up. To my knowledge, this had nothing to do with using some other browser with Win 10, other then the Win 10 Microsoft Edge browser within Win 10. If I am wrong, hopefully, Eric will correct me. Only after he made those changes to Microsoft Edge was he able to get it to access our Forum....

Dan Leavens
11-10-2015, 06:34 PM
Well we are certainly glad that Eric in Sweden has resolved the issue and is able to navigate our site freely as a trusted site.:D

DKheld
11-25-2015, 07:34 PM
Probably should start a separate thread but any reports of problems with Firefox/Mozilla?

Here's a weird one for you.

Mozilla (Firefox) works but the small links below the pics on the main page do not show the year or other text and do not work. The picture link works though. Been this way for some time. Just upgraded to Win10 (which I know doesn't really matter - just FYI). Same problem on my Win 7 and Win XP laptops using Mozilla. Tried turning on and off security settings etc one at a time to see which setting made it work but no luck. I gave up and just made a shortcut directly to the forums index. (( http://www.squarebirds.org/vbulletin/index.php )) Works fine so haven't bothered with the main page trouble. If you want me to try different things - let me know. Not sure if any one else has reported this - I just prefer FireFox..

IE/Microsoft Edge works fine on the Win 10 laptop.

Eric (the other Eric - ha!)

YellowRose
11-25-2015, 07:50 PM
Hi Eric, Thanks for the emails, and especially the one showing those pix with and without the text below them. I happen to use Firefox myself to monitor the Forum with, and have for years. On the other hand, Dave Dare uses IE and there are certainly some differences between how those two browsers show the Forum layout. Looking at the Forum in Firefox, I do NOT have any missing text under those images. I am not using Win 10 though, but still on Win 7. Dave is using Win 10 and IE. Eric in Sweden just emailed me the other day to tell me that he has had nothing but problems with Win 10 and Microsoft Edge in trying to access things, including our Forum. So he went back to Win 7 and everything is fine now.

I can't tell you why you are having that problem. Firefox has always worked well for me, with everything showing as it should be. There are times though when Dave has told me about something that he was seeing viewing it with IE that I am not seeing with Firefox. Switching over to IE, has allowed me to see what he was talking about. Mostly that has had to do with attachments not showing up right, at times. I probably should just switch over to IE and use it mainly for the Forum and use Firefox for my google searching. Instead, I have done it the other way around. Let's see what Dave might have to say about what you have posted.

DKheld
11-25-2015, 08:02 PM
Yea - I'm sure it just a setting in Firefox just not sure which one.
I may play around with it over the weekend.

Oh - forgot to mention - using Firefox version 42.0

Eric

simplyconnected
11-25-2015, 08:02 PM
Eric, does Firefox have a setting for 'compatibility view' in the 'tools' menu? In IE, 'tools' looks like a gear if you don't see it in your top menu. I suggest you turn on your compatibility view settings just to see if things change for you.

Those Shockwave buttons under the pictures were created many years ago with software that hasn't been available since Windows 98. I can move them or delete them but I cannot change how they look or the text without the old version of Dreamweaver (that will not work with modern Windows). My only option is to reconstruct all the buttons on all the pages using my own templates. The original templates were lost two servers ago, along with many pictures. - Dave

YellowRose
11-25-2015, 08:35 PM
Eric, I was using Firefox 41.0.2 but when I checked the Help tab to see what version I was using, it downloaded V 42.0 and I installed it. I still see the text below the pix after doing that. As for the Compatibility view, I do not think that Firefox has it. At least I did not find it, but IE does. As Dave suggested, you might try IE and see if you get the text under the pix. I do.

jopizz
11-25-2015, 09:19 PM
You need to enable Flash Player for them to work. Of course Flash Player has it's share of security issues so I prefer to leave it disabled in Firefox.

John