PDA

View Full Version : 58 tbird camshaft

chris58
06-18-2014, 05:35 PM
Gday guys, I'm pretty new to the whole Tbird/Ford game. I'm in the process of restoring my 58 and am now looking at rebuilding the engine. Now being from Australia it's probably a little more tricky so I need to be spot on with what parts I purchase. First thing I'm stuck on is the camshaft, after looking through the web I've been unable to figure out what type I would have, ie solid or hydraulic. The car is a March 19 build with original 352 engine.
Thanks in advance.
Chris.

simplyconnected
06-18-2014, 06:31 PM
Aside from the heads, your camshaft sets the stage for the type of service an engine will deliver. To answer your question, I need to know what you are looking for.

How long do you plan on keeping this car?

Is this car a daily driver?

Are you looking for high performance?

Are you looking for longevity?

Do you care about how the exhaust 'speaks'?

Long trips, cruises or garage/trailer queen?

Do you want to keep the car pure stock, upgrade some features or retrofit so your family is safe among modern cars on fast highways?

Now let's talk about you...

Do you wrench, or pay a mechanic?

Do you belong to a car club?

Stereo or mono?

Owning a classic car can be a money pit. Squarebirds were designed and built to standards that are fifty years old. Everything has changed including:

Fuel

tires

seat belts

disk brakes

Motor oil formulation, and a host of optional accessories that didn't exist back then like electric radiator fans, 100-amp alternators, etc.

Before you start into this, you need to be sure you know what you want. Everyone is different and I cannot tell you what you like or don't like. I would sure hate to see you spend money for things you really didn't want, but sometimes that happens because you didn't 'know' about conditions or products before hand.

If you set your sights on a certain dream, see it to the end and enjoy your passion. - Dave

chris58