PDA

View Full Version : Wipers on '63


adam68
03-13-2014, 05:16 PM
Wipers don't work on my '63. I know they are hydro, but what should I look for to see if lines are hooked up. I have an A/C car and P/S reservoir is mounted in correct spot.

Does that cable from the sw have any adj?

Any help on this issue would be appreciated.

Thanks

jopizz
03-13-2014, 08:47 PM
The hydraulic wiper motor is underneath the cowl. There is some adjustment on the motor so the cable pulls the lever correctly. You will have to remove the cowl to get to it. You should have a pressure line from the pump to the motor and a return line to the reservoir.

John

Ian M Greer
03-13-2014, 09:26 PM
To my knowledge the hydraulic wipers are known to clog up internally an malfunction . also the power steering filter could be partially plugged up , check the filter in the power steering reservoir. Also air in the hydraulic circuit can also cause problems . Food for thought ? Ian (REMEMBER NOT ALL BIRDS FLY SOUTH )

adam68
03-14-2014, 01:29 AM
I do have the hydro lines going into cowl. I will ck filter and maybe bleed the system before I remove cowl. But, cowl seems easy to remove, so maybe a simple cable adj will work.

thanks for your suggestions.

adam68
03-17-2014, 01:37 PM
After the cowl was removed a simple adj of cable resolved everything.

Now they work Ike new.

THX

jopizz
03-17-2014, 01:55 PM
Glad to hear it was a simple fix.

John